Very Very Busy

Which is why I haven’t been blogging as much.

But I have been reading.  A post over at 4+20 caught my eye.  The arguments adduced by the commenters were all favorable to communing those who are unable to communicate at a high level, but are also obviously faithful Christians who should be admitted to the sacrament of the altar.

What seems patently obvious to me is that if these arguments are true, then there is no valid reason to continue to exclude baptized infants from the altar, and many reasons to admit them without delay.  Indeed, if these arguments are true, then continuing to deny them the food that does not spoil but remains to eternal life is to disregard the command of our Lord quoted in the title of the post.

NB : I did not post my comment over at 4+20 because I did not want to cause thread fail.

NB2 : A couple of years ago, when members complained about the noise children make in church, I began using “Let the little children come to me…” as the blessing at the railing.  I’m not certain that people fully grasp that it is not only a declaration that children belong in church, but said in that context, it almost seems to be a plea to admit them to the sacrament.  I had not intended it to be that, but I do not think you can deny the link…

2 Responses to “Very Very Busy”

  1. Timothy C. Schenks Says:

    Having sent the 4+20+ Blackbirds post to my pastor a few days ago wondering how long it would take for infant communion to be brought up as a result of that post, I’m sad to see that it didn’t take very long.

    • forestboar Says:

      As long as Lutherans fail to adequately engage the question, it will recur. And, “Luther said not to” is utterly insufficient.
      Perhaps the question those who reject it a priori should ask is, “What is it about Lutheran Theology that leads pastors of otherwise good theological reputation to embrace the idea?” I think that there is a fundamental part of our theology that of necessity leads to infant communion.
      At the very least, the question will not go away as long as we stick to the pietistic and rationalistic practice of communing at essentially adulthood.
      But to change that will bring up the question, “How young?” which will, of course, bring us back to the question of why we follow the practice of the papal church (1200AD-), instead of the earlier church (-1200AD).
      I guess to put it another way, the question is not going away.

Leave a Reply

