Psalm 69, We Hardly Knew Ye

I was putting together a list of psalms to be used at the opening prayer for Catechesis, and for the second article Part 2  I included psalm 69.  (Psalm 22 was for part 1.)  Knowing that such an obviously Christological, and such oft quoted psalm must be included in the LSB psalter, I did not actually check.  Imagine my shock and awe when I came to that day, turned to the psalm, and it wasn’t there. Further imagine my shock to read through the Lutheran Hymnal Project document drop and  discover that it was not included in TLH or LW either!  It was included in the LBW – the one hymnal produced by people who have no trouble denying prophecy.

I’m not certain what to make of all this, but I am sad to see it isn’t there.

The older I get, the more I realize how sublime the Psalter is.  How deep the theology of each psalm.  How much better it is than most, if not all, of the hymns included in the hymnal.  No matter my mood, my problems, my theological dilemma, or even my desire to praise the Lord, there is not a single psalm to which I could turn randomly that I do not say, “This was written for my exact situation!  It’s as if the psalmist is inside my head right now.”  How is that possible?  I still haven’t figured it out, other than the psalter was written by inspiration of the Holy Ghost, and He knows how to get things done.

2 Responses to “Psalm 69, We Hardly Knew Ye”

  1. We still use the TLH. We may start using the ELH. It does the same thing. I for one have never understood why all these hymnals have such an aversion to including the entire Psalter! Saving paper? Come on.

    And don’t get me started on the decision to drop the propers from the LSB.

  2. Carl Vehse Says:

    Maybe Psalm 69 was considered too imprecatory.

Leave a Reply

