Dilemma

HT to Dr. Gard for this link, I think.  I’m not sure if I am grateful or not.  It’s pretty bad.

Suesscharist.  Yeah. It’s what it sounds like.

So the dilemma is this :

Am I more offended that they would do this to the Divine Liturgy, or that they would butcher Seuss in this way?

I suppose I must go with the default that the Divine Word is more important than the word of man, in which case I am more offended about what they did to the Divine Liturgy.  But I am still outraged that the hackneyed, ham-fisted, sorry excuse for poetry is being at all compared to the simple elegance of the writings of Dr. Seuss.

Compare :

Almighty God, who gave us fun all this week,
So that we could be at our best, and at our peak;
Give us grace, as we leave this place,
Let the lessons that we have learned not go to waste
All this we ask through your loving name –
Father, Son and Holy Ghost, one in the same.

The meter stumbles, the rhymes don’t, the ones that do are at best a stretch.  It’s just not good poetry.  Compare that to the sublime :

I am Sam.

Sam I am.

That Sam I am. That Sam I am.

I Do not like that Sam I am.

Do you like green eggs and ham?

Let me just say that I would not do this service.

It would not work in my church.

Or any I find in a Google search.

It would not be improved with a bell.

It would even be despised in the depths of –

Anywho…

One Response to “Dilemma”

  1. I’m looking for the words “Thank you, thank you, Great I AM!”

Leave a Reply

