The Myth of Law and Gospel Part 2

What had originally begun as a few thoughts I had will now be a regular feature for at least a few weeks.  Why?  Because I am not sure we actually understand what it means to properly divide law and Gospel in a sermon.  We read Walther – and these posts in no way take issue with anything Walther said.  His theses are absolutely sound.  But I fear that “Here is Law”, “And now the The Gospel” becomes the only dynamic for writing or judging a sermon.

I’m not sure if it is merely fortuitous or divine intervention that the day I complain about the patron saint of preaching in the LCMS I receive CTQ in the mail with a paper on Dr. Caemerer.  I haven’t had time to read it all, but apparently he felt that year after year, pastors would misuse “goal, malady, means” by imposing a law-gospel structure on it.  Now, what did he mean by that?  I don’t know, I haven’t finished reading the paper.  But it is certainly an interesting thought, and one that is occupying my mind today.

Leave a Reply

