Holy Week Monday

For those who don’t have a church that offers services each day of Holy Week, good news – my congregation does! And I record them!  And post them on my blog!  While using many exclamation points!

I started a few years ago.  I can’t imagine being without them. They really get me prepared for the grueling but fun Tri-Duum.  Today, we had record attendance – 12.   I schedule them at 11:30, 12, and 12:30 on Mon, Tue and Wed.  That way, no matter what time your lunch hour is, you can hopefully attend at least one of them.   They are thirty minutes – not a minute longer – so you can leave work from anywhere in town, come to church, eat a sandwich and get back to work on time.  How do you do a full Divine Service in 30 minutes, including the Passion Readings for the Gospel?

First : Cut everything that wasn’t there pre-Luther (Confession, Third reading, Nunc Dimittis, etc.)  Now, cut all the stuff that is often omitted at weekday services (Creed, Gloria – which isn’t there anyway).  Make it all spoken.  (No hymns) And keep the sermon short.  Today’s was actually too short.

You’ll also notice, if you listen to the whole thing, that I use the TLH alternate response after the sacrament.  I don’t think I’ve ever heard it used anywhere else ever.  It was removed from the new hymnal, and no one even noticed.  Pity.  Anyway, we use it during these three services.

So here it is.  You can listen to :

The whole service (I deleted the distribution, so it’s only about 23 minutes)

The sermon. (Tomorrow’s will hopefully be longer)

You can also : See the Ordo here.   Holy Week Midday DS

Enjoy, and stop back tomorrow for more.

Leave a Reply

