Korby Gem

Luther’s call to repentance in the 95 theses in 1517 said at the outset, “When our Lord and Master Jesus Christ says Repent, He willed the entire life of believers to be one of repentance.” …

I have tried this with groups of pastors where we were discussing Walther’s Proper Distinction between the Law and the Gospel, and for some strange reason they turned into Quaker’s meetings most of the time.

One of my questions was, simply,”What do you expect your people to do when you preach to them, ‘Repent’?”  And we had a Quaker meeting.  I was astonished…

So I said, “Well, if you don’t tell me what you expect them to do, what do you do when you repent?”  And the Quaker meeting went on.

***

So, what do we do when we repent?

2 Responses to “Korby Gem”

  1. Rev. Rifle Says:

    Yes, I am an LCMS pastor, but no, I am not overly familiar with Quakerism. Please define “Quaker meeting.”

    • forestboar Says:

      The Quaker’s would sit silently until someone felt inspired to say something. I think his point is that he was met with stunned and prolonged silence.

Leave a Reply

